Chivalry: is it Dead?

Today, on the bus to work, I waited for several people to get off, before letting three elderly on first. Only then, did I get on the bus. This is a regular routine- it’s just polite manners, to those around us. However, once I arrived at my destination, everybody (majority male- not being sexist -was in actual fact, roughly 8-10 school boys / workmen) got up straight away, pushing and shoving- not even stopping for the elderly, to get off the bus. I just sat there and waited for every single person to get off before myself, because it was chaos. And then it hit me; is chivalry dead? Is there no such thing as opening doors for women, letting the elderly off first, etc? Obviously women, elderly, myself and whomever else don’t expect it all the time, but it would be nice to know if it could happen. And it doesn’t as often anymore, as the world is full a new generation of kids; ones with smartphones glued to their hands. 60 years ago, the world was right, in regards to gentlemen and lady codes – or so it seems to me. Our world has no moral values anymore.

Leave a comment